Getting it Together – a Follow Up

From the feedback I received last week for my Getting it together post, it is clear that I am not alone in feeling like I’m constantly overwhelmed and falling apart. And while I truly understand that no one has it all “together”, I am not happy with my personal level of togetherness. It seems like multi-tasking to pull myself together is not something I’m capable of. While I, in no way, feel the need to be close to perfect or 100% together, I certainly want to feel more put together than I do currently.

Part of this, I’m sure, is the fact that nesting has hit me hard. I want to clean everything, get the nursery together, become organized, use green cleaning supplies, etc and I want to do it all right now.

There is another part of me that knows that if I were to de-clutter my living spaces, it would lead to me feeling more together and less stressed and so I actually have some rather crazy plans in terms of de-cluttering.

One thing I did a few weeks ago was ruthlessly go through my make up. I got rid of FAR more than I kept. In fact, the only things I did keep were the things I use every day. Gone are all the different colored eyeshadows, gone are the remnants and foundation back ups. Then, when I was finished with that, I went through the fingernail polish. Out of the dozens I had, I kept 4. I’m not going to lie, the stress from doing make up has lifted, I’m more content with having a cleaner drawer, less make up and a less complicated morning because I don’t have to wonder or feel guilty for not using some of the more fun eyeshadow I had.

My next de-cluttering project, which I know might make some women (and men) gasp in horror is that I’m going to ruthlessly go through my shoes. As of right now I have a ridiculous number of heels that I don’t wear. I wear flats, flip flops and converse 99% of the time. Besides that I really only ever need 1 pair of black heels. So if you want some cute, barely worn heels, check out goodwill, because they will be coming.

Really though, ever since I wrote that post, I’ve been brainstorming on what it is I need to do, change and implement to make myself feel more put together. Like I said, I’m not looking for perfection, but I am looking to be content. The answer is, one thing at a time, one focus at a time.

So, I’m going on an adventure. A getting it together adventure.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Getting it Together – a Follow Up

  1. Pingback: Organization: Shoes Purge | A Blog to Bragg About

  2. Pingback: Getting it Together: Meal Plans and Grocery Shopping | A Blog to Bragg About

Leave a Reply

