So Much Hate

For the loviest day of the year. What’s with that?

Okay, granted, it isn’t necessarily the day of the year where you may feel the most love for someone but the point stands. Why do people feel the need to be so hateful about Valentine’s day? I really don’t get it.

“I love my (wife, husband, g/f, b/f, whomever) every day of the year. I don’t need a specific day to show them I care”

1. That’s pretty insulting and presumptuous towards the people who do celebrate valentine’s day.

2.  I don’t think for most people Valentine’s day is the ONLY day of the year they show their special someone they care.

I mean, I celebrate birthdays, holidays, other special days. Does my celebrating mother’s day mean I don’t appreciate my mother the other days of the year? Does making Joseph feel extra special on 8/5 mean I don’t care how he feels the other 364 days of the year?

No, it means I’m choosing a day to go above and beyond. Because, not to blow minds or anything, but you can’t make every day special. Once you do that, it turns into the norm and is no longer special and in fact, becomes expected.

I celebrate Valentine’s day with Joseph. I make him Spicy mac and cheese, he makes dessert, we exchange little gifts as a simple token of the fact that we’ve chosen this day to go hey “I love you, I appreciate you, I want you to feel special”. Does it take anything away if other couple’s are choosing that same day to also do this? No. Does it mean I don’t appreciate Joseph on 2/15? Heck no!

So, if Valentine’s day isn’t your thing, that’s cool. But don’t insult other people’s relationships because they do celebrate it.

To: All my blog readers. Happy Valentine’s Day from Haymitch and Me. We love you, you keep us young! (meangirlsofpanem.tumblr.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

