Infertility Etiquette

Talking about this sort of thing is not my favorite. Reproduction between a couple is very private and personal. It can be rewarding or disappointing. It can drain you emotionally and leave you feeling like a person you don’t even know. Trying to conceive can be the best or worst time of your life.

Joseph and I started trying in December of 2011, which means at this point we have been trying to conceive about a year. The year mark is when a couple is deemed infertile if they have not yet conceived. It’s such a cold, harsh and scary word. It’s a word I’m having to face.

A good girl friend of mine who knows what I’m going through, mostly because we’re basically at the same point, sent me this article on Infertility Etiquette which I think very clearly and eloquently deals with what I’m going through.

I hate writing about this but I do it because I want anyone who struggles with this to know that it doesn’t have to be this dirty shameful secret. Sure, I don’t want to talk about it with people personally… it will make me cry but I know what it’s like to be ashamed of my perceived shortcomings as a woman.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Infertility Etiquette

  1. That’s the problem with this entire journey, the shame and pain in dealing with the infertility. I hate that we all feel like we need to hide in this corner and can’t discuss it because we feel like there’s something wrong with us. I’ve posted little things now and then on my FB and have gotten such warm responses from others who’ve dealt with this, but always in a private message – it’s like no one wants to admit there’s an issue.

    But, I love this article (obviously, haha) because I’ve learned the people who do want to discuss it with me, and who try to be supportive, sometimes say bonehead things. 🙂

  2. Sherry

    Before claiming infidelity, know that God has perfect timing for everything. Many times we want things at our time but He has a better time. So don’t give up. I have a lot of cousins from ‘infertile’ aunts who didn’t listen give up or even listen to doctors. 🙂

  3. You haven’t posted in two weeks and I know you have things going on in your life! I miss your posts!

Leave a Reply

