Election Disappointment

I know I’m not the only one disappointed after last night’s election.

Of course, to be fair I’ve felt this same disappointment for the past few weeks as facebook has become more and more inundated with arrogant, ignorant and downright rude comments and opinions regarding one political candidate or another.

I was unaware that a vote for Obama really = a love for killing babies. And on the flip side, I was unaware that Romney supporters hated women.

I was unaware that affiliating with one party or voting for one candidate meant you agreed with them 100% with no room for any grey areas.

I was unaware that Jesus was backing a candidate and that to not vote that way meant I was a bad Christian and going to hell, which I’ve seen both insinuated and stated right out. (But if I didn’t vote for Obama either does that mean it’s a wash?)

I was unaware that a difference of opinion meant someone else was lazy, felt entitled, was a waste of time or space, or mooching for the sake of mooching.

I was unaware that those same traits applied to those on unemployment or welfare.

I was unaware that Canada was the better choice for those republicans ready to flee over their hatred of national healthcare. (Please let that one sink in)

I was unaware that we could no longer state a differing opinion in any way other than hostile and rude.

I was unaware that loving your neighbors only extended to those with the correct political poster in their yard.

I was unaware that coming out of this I would be seriously disappointed and disgusted by the hate I’ve been inundated with since campaign season really got under way for both candidates.

Just a reminder of how government works in the United States:

We have in place a plan of checks and balances

Three branches of government:

Executive
Judicial
Legislative

We have a House of Representatives and a Senate which make up Congress

The United States was created so that no one man can control it.

Additionally there are many rights as determined BY STATES and protected by the Bill of Rights in the Constitution

So, remember voting isn’t just every 4 years during presidential elections. If you’re that concerned get out every election day and make your voice be heard.

And remember, when you insult a candidate or a political affiliation, you’re not insulting strangers, you’re insulting people you have in your life who just so happen to have differing views.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Election Disappointment

  1. Amber

    Beautifully stated.

  2. Thank you for this. It is beautifully said.

  3. nicely said!
    and i have just two words to mention in Fair Tax
    =^..^=

  4. I liked your honorable point of the fleeing to Canada. I was listening to talk radio in the car today (Don’t judge me) and I heard people talking about it. I instantly thought “what? That makes no sense!” LOL

  5. I will admit I was listening to Neal Bortz since my sirius radio expired and I can’t listen to NPR in the car anymore. Don’t agree with half of what he says but it gives me something to write about for a blog assignment I have for my Mass Media and politics class. He unintentionally inspires me. lol. I am more of a Herman Cain fan.

    • Joe and I have seen Herman Cain speak before about fair taxes (before he was up as a potential candidate/the scandal) and we really like what he has to say.

      Neal Bortz, good ole crazy Neal. I like Hannity for the drama he creates. He’s always an interesting listen but definitely biased.

  6. Jasmine

    Excellent post! I’ve been so disheartened by all of the hate from both sides. It’s been nice to see a few people still have some sense. Loved Herman and Fair Tax. I can’t listen to Hannity anymore 😦 I used to love him, but he just seems so whiny now.

Leave a Reply

