Tasty Tuesday: Fresh Apples!

It’s been a busy couple weeks for Mrs B; between trying to get in work outs and school and work (REALLY STRESSFUL week at work), I’ve done most of the cooking.  Most of my cooking is really simple stuff like Nuggets or Soup or something on the Grill (I am a MAN after all).   I know Tasty Tuesday is usually her wonderful cooking, but I wanted to talk about something else today that is TASTY!

 

FRESH APPLES!!!

 

This weekend we ventured out, with my family and their 9 million kids, to Hillcrest Orchards  in Ellijay, Ga.   They have things there that are great for the kids: Jumping Pillow, Petting Zoo, Pig Races; and things for the Adults too: Live Music, Moonshine museum (which could double as a haunted house), and really what adult doesn’t love Pig Races too.   Also, we didn’t get a chance to try one, but these are the kinds of places that sell GREAT foods like ‘Deep Fried Oreos’ and ‘Deep Fried Moon Pies’

After all of those things to do, the main reason people go are to pick their own fresh apples!

It’s hard to believe that fresh apples can be better than store apples (since I LOVE all apples) but it’s true!  Fresh apples that I picked myself, from the tree are better.  I don’t know if it’s the lack of pesticides used,  or the fact that I had to do all the hard work myself of finding the perfect apple, but either way it is BETTER! 

  

*** Warning ***

If you’re going to an apple orchard, I would like to advise that you go a few weeks before we did, and most likely in the morning before they are busy… while we did have fun there, it was CRAZY busy and a lot of the fresh red apples were already picked.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Fresh Apples!

  1. nice post – i just bought some apples today. my prefernce are the red delicious ones. or as a cider – preferably woodchuck. have you ever made homemade applesauce?

    and apples are vegan! woot!

  2. I posted about your blog today!

Leave a Reply

