Happiness Project: September Check In

So, just as a reminder, for September I decided to give my August Goal another try. Although this past weekend was a little rough since I didn’t have total say over what I ate, I’ve done very well besides that.

Joseph and I have moved to a new crossfit schedule where we rest every Sunday and Wednesday. Our workouts have been amazing and tiring. Tuesday afternoon, knowing it was going to be an especially hard workout, we decided to go over to Stephen and Jasmine’s for extra moral support. During this workout, I actually thought I was going to puke 2 or 3 times, going so far as to leave the workout floor and go outside to lean over a fence, just in case. But, finishing it I felt more amazing then I knew possible.

Tuesday Workout:
Five rounds for time of:
7 Handstand push-ups  progressions
45 pound Thruster, 7 reps
7 Knees Ups
85 pound Deadlift, 7 reps
7 Burpees
7 Kettlebell swings, 25 pound
7 Jumping Pull-ups

Time of 28:39

Today’s Workout:
For time:
50 Sumo Deadlift High Pull, 24 pound
30 Wall ball shots, 9 pound ball
30 SDHP, 24 pound
20 Wall ball shots, 9 pound ball
10 SDHP, 24 pound
10 Wall ball shots, 9 pound ball

Time of: 7:29

Me, after today’s workout.

Our eating has also been spot on. One thing that I think has really helped me is that Joseph actually stepped up and offered to help me cook this week. Something we’ve actually argued over in the past is that even though I enjoy cooking it is a chore for me to do it every single night. I think he finally got it. He actually offered to cook all week, but I thought it’d be more fun for us each to bring a couple of meals to the table.

This week we’ve had:

Pork chop & cheesy (cauliflower*) rice (Me)
Bacon wrapped chicken with pepperjack cauliflower (Joseph)
Steak & cheddar eggs with cauliflower casserole (Joseph)
& tonight: Pesto chicken with Caesar Salad (Me)

*yes, I realize we eat a ton of cauliflower, but that is because it rocks*

When Joseph made the steak meal, I actually looked at him and asked “Why do you let me think I can cook? Why do I waste my time in the kitchen if you can make this taste so good?”

Lastly, we’ve also taken turns making a dessert for us. Typically we’ll buy a bag of dark chocolate and have a couple of pieces because I want chocolate in my life always, but having that means it would be very easy to over indulge. Instead on the night Joe cooks, I do dessert and vice versa.

We’ve had:
A split Chocolate Coconut Smoothie (me)
Baked Apples with Cinnamon, Chocolate & Butter (Joseph)
Pudding made from Avocado (me and a complete failure)
& tonight: Angel Food Cake with a Nutellaish topping (Joseph)

So, I’m doing great. I’m happy with my progress. I feel amazing both because of working out and eating right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

