Tasty Tuesday: Chocolate Banana Smoothie

I’ve never been a huge fan of breakfast. Even as a child, it wasn’t typically my thing. In fact, it wasn’t until I started to get to work earlier that I started eating it every day and that was only so I had something to tide me over until lunch. Joseph is actually kind enough to make eggs and bacon whenever I ask him but most days that’s a lot of food for me to eat.

My favorite breakfast is a smoothie. I pretty much love all smoothies, whether they have lots of fruit or are more decadent. I prefer my morning smoothies to have protein of some sort whether it comes from a powder or from almond butter or peanut butter, etc. However, as I mentioned here, I’ve been waiting on my replacement blender.

I’m so glad to be able to share the fact that I’m happily back to drinking my breakfast. I actually wanted to share this recipe a few weeks ago, but on the very day I planned to share it was when the blender broke. I guess it wasn’t meant to be that week.

The original recipe can be found here, but I’ve made a number of small tweaks to create what I consider Perfection. This smoothie is fulfilling, delicious, decadent and perfect for a hot Georgia morning. It’s also a snap to throw together.

Chocolate Banana Smoothie

Ingredients:

2 Frozen Bananas, sliced up
1.5 cups Coconut Milk (I use the Silk Brand)
2 t Cocoa Powder
3-4 T Almond Butter
1 t Honey (or a squirt)
Cinnamon to taste
2 cup Ice

Directions:

In a good blender, add all ingredients. Slowly turn the blender speed up until fully blended. Add extra coconut milk if necessary. To help me in the morning make this quicker, I measure out the milk first in my blender because it has the cups marked.

Pour into two cups (the SOLO brand preferred). Stab it with a straw and head out the door with your yummy and delicious breakfast.

This makes a nice and thick smoothie. The bananas being frozen are key.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

