Tasty Tuesday: Kitchen Sink Quiche

Or, How to make a Quiche out of anything.

Whenever a recipe has “Kitchen Sink” in the name it’s usually just referring to the fact that the recipe is using up odds and ends in the pantry or fridge before they go bad. This weekend, I had a number of odds and ends to use up; already chopped up onions & peppers, partially used bags of ham and cheese, bacon that needed to be cooked up and a partially used pint of half and half.  So, if you want to make a quiche but don’t necessarily have or want what is going into mine, no big deal… well, as long as you do have eggs. Those aren’t optional.

I planned to make mini frittatas but after running the cupcake pan through the dishwasher and seeing all the egg I had still to scrub out, I changed my mind and borrowed the cooking instructions from my Crustless Chorizo Quiche.

The great thing about quiche, is that it is a total blank slate. While eggs are necessary, you don’t have to use a specific milk but use whatever you have on hand. Although, to be honest, I wouldn’t recommend vanilla or chocolate flavored anything.

The additions are virtually limitless between different meats, cheeses, vegetables and spices it really is up to whatever you have on hand. Keep in mind that a lot of the vegetables you will want to cook beforehand so that they are tender or so that they release extra water. Additionally, your meat should be fully cooked before you add it to the dish as well.

The only ingredients I really measure out are my eggs and milk and I even added 2 eggs to the recipe today so that I could use up the rest of my half & half because otherwise it would probably get thrown out in a couple of weeks because I never had a need for the quarter cup of it I had left.

Clearly, I prefer a quiche without crust. Another variation from a typical pie crust would be to use shredded hashbrowns. Press the hashbrowns into the pie plate and cook for 10-15 minutes before adding all the other ingredients.

Kitchen Sink Quiche

Ingredients:

1.25 cups of Half & Half
10 Eggs
1 cup cheese
Diced Onion, Bell Pepper, Green Onion, Cilantro
Diced Ham
Crumbled Bacon

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 400

In a greased pie dish or casserole dish (depending on size of quiche) layer the meat and vegetables. Sprinkle cheese on top.

Whisk eggs and half & half together. Season with Salt & Pepper and whatever else sounds good.

Pour egg mixture into dish.

Bake for 30 minutes or until quiche is cooked through and eggs are set.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

