Whiney Wednesday

Is that how you spell whiney? Do I care? No, I don’t.

Forgive me for the huge whine this is about to become but I’m tired. I’m tired of not sleeping well, I’m tired of being sick, I’m tired of only having half a nostril to breathe through. I’m not personally a fan of mouth breathing and neither are my poor chapped lips.

What started out as a tickle in my throat, quickly blossomed into a wonderfully horrible sinus infection. Last night, as I’m trying to sleep, so exhausted that I can barely keep my eyes open, I take 3 or 4 breaths before my body drifts off to sleep and promptly forgets that all breathing must go through the mouth. Therefore I jolt awake instantly and take a huge gasping breathing through my mouth. This commenced MOST of the night.

The only time I seem to be able to get any sleep is the instant my butt hits a seat in the car, then it’s a struggle to keep my eyes open as my eyelids instantly start to weight 100 pounds each. I finally gave into the sick and called out. Around 7:30ish I called into Kaiser to see if I could get an appointment, I had to go with my third choice of facility (although, honestly they would have been my last choice if the next closest wasn’t all the way in Kennesaw) and the one that previously refused to give me antibiotics for a sinus infection a few years ago. I mean, after all, they don’t want to just give that out easily since your body can adapt to it. Instead I was basically told to take these pills to suppress your cough (you know, the one I never claimed to have) and to suffer another week before they will give me antibiotics.

Of course, the last time I had actually taken antibiotics was so long ago that I can’t remember and therefore was before I was an adult who had to take care of her own health history, but that’s just bitter me remembering the many nights of sleepless torture where I wanted to dig my own throat out with a spoon because THAT would have hurt less.

Anyways, so I get to my appointment today half an hour early. Not in the hopes that they will see me early, but more because I had planned to go to Garden Ridge even earlier, showed up, realized I didn’t have my wallet (which would have been fine except for that whole ID and proof of ins nonsense Kaiser insists on) so I had to turn around and go home, find it on the counter, remembered why it wasn’t in my purse and head back, with not enough time to actually wander Garden Ridge.

I’m gonna give Kaiser some props though, they saw me practically right away, got all those important vitals, stuck me in a room with a massive chair and left me to wait. Not even 5 minutes later, in walks this average height man in his late 40’s early 50’s, white hair and a colorful Bow Tie. He proceeds to check my sinuses “Wow, that’s a mess” and check out my throat “Your tonsils are so large they could use their own zip code.”

I’m not sure if that is actually funny or if it was the lack of sleep but I sporadically giggled over his comments for hours after.

Oh, and he gave me all of these:

And can I just say for the record that Joseph is slaving over a stove for the second time this week making me a SECOND batch of chicken soup because it’s pretty much the only thing I want to eat and that is only a FRACTION of what he has done for me. And I know as annoying and in love as we come across, he needs props because without my magical chicken soup, I’d probably be in a ball, rocking back and forth and sobbing because I’m so tired of feeling like a useless lump of snot.
AKA the longest explanation of why I’m not taking the time to post either of my legitimate work it Wednesday posts.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Whiney Wednesday

  1. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

