Tasty Tuesday: Cheesy Taco Spaghetti Squash Bake

For the past few days I’ve been suffering from one of the worst sinus infections I’ve had in a while. As I’ve told a few people: The Allergy Mack Truck has smacked me in the face. I am all stuffed up with a runny nose at the same time. I know, seems like a person should suffer from one or the other, but not both. It’s so bad that yesterday when Joseph and I got home, I crawled into bed and didn’t really move except to eat soup. Home made chicken soup, perfect for what ailed me. Made by Joseph since my mommy wasn’t in town to do it for me.

That is the biggest lead in to say that while I enjoyed my taco spaghetti squash bake on Sunday night when I made it, I couldn’t really taste the leftovers that I had for lunch the next day, on account of being so clogged that I’ve lost the sensation of most taste. Although I can totally taste the tequila in the Jose Cuervo chocolates I have. However, Joseph swears that this dish makes amazing leftovers.

This meal is a super easy meal to make, although you do need to cook the spaghetti squash so either allow 45 minutes to cook before hand or cook it the day before or something.

Cheesy Taco Spaghetti Squash Bake

Ingredients:
1 medium Spaghetti Squash
1 lb Ground Beef
Onion, sliced
Taco Seasoning
2 T butter
1 1/2 cups Cheddar Cheese
2/3 cup Sour Cream

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375. Split spaghetti squash in half and scrape out seeds. Lay on baking sheet rind side up and bake for 45 minutes.

Once the flesh is tender enough that it shreds easily with a fork, remove and allow to cool for easy handling.

In a small pan, melt the butter. Add in the onion and cook until soft and slightly browned.

In a separate pan, brown the ground beef. Add taco seasoning and water as directed and cook down until no liquid remains.

In a bowl, combine onion, ground beef, sour cream, flesh of the spaghetti squash and 1 cup of cheddar cheese. Season with Salt & Pepper to taste. Mix well before pouring into a greased 8×8 pan. Sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until cheese is melted and the dish is heated through. If you want a crispier crust, broil on high for a few minutes to desired finish.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Tasty Tuesday: Cheesy Taco Spaghetti Squash Bake

  1. Pingback: Menu Planning Monday | A Blog to Bragg About

Leave a Reply

