Comcast Xfinity: Business of Liars

Alright Comcast, let’s talk and this time I’m not going to be interrupted as I point out all the ways you have harassed us, lied to us, given us the run around and then did it all again.

So, last year, before Joseph and I moved into our new house we had Comcast and we simply LOVED it. It was so great: fast internet, perfect cable and we honestly never had to speak to a representative.  We found out we were moving contacted them and were told

“I don’t think we service your area.”

Alright, that’s fine. It sucks, but it’s fine. So we move, we contact AT&T and start the process to get them, when in our mail we noticed that we got a Comcast ad.

Joseph, never one to give up on what he wants, gives them another call.

“Oh, it looks like we did use to give service to your house. We will send a tech out to hook you guys up with internet and cable”

Awesome.

Exciting.

Such a happy day in the Bragg household. Cable for us!

The day comes and we are told by the tech that comes out, “I can’t give you service. I’m not sure why they told you I could. Call them back”

Day 1 Wasted (not counting the two phone calls we made to get their service and I’m sure I don’t have to tell any of you about the wait times).

We call Comcast, tell them what we were told.

“We would have to send a tech out to see how much it would cost to get line run.”

Sure, okay, send the tech out. We would like to know how we can get service.

The tech didn’t make it out the first day, which we had to call to find out (More time wasted) At least this time we were told we didn’t actually have to be there, but of course that wasn’t mentioned the first time so that’s day number TWO wasted.

The tech didn’t come the second day, which we had to call to find out (More time wasted)

The tech didn’t come the third day, which we had to call to find out (More time wasted)

I’ll stop being repetitive at this point and go ahead and say this whole ordeal of trying to get Comcast last year lasted AT LEAST a month if not more.

Now, while we are calling Comcast they keep calling us… which is my nice way of saying they kept HARRASSING us and CHARGING us for the internet modem they told us to keep since they were “still going to get you service in your house”.

To the point, where I ended up on the phone with them, so frustrated I’m in tears, going over the whole ordeal for the millionth time.

Numerous times during this ordeal we requested to speak with a manager, only to be put on hold for ridiculously long amounts of time and SURPRISNGLY  a manager was NEVER available, but “I promise he/she will call you back”, leaving us waiting for a call that NEVER CAME.

Want to know what else never came? The estimate for moving the line so we can DARE to pay Comcast OUR HARD EARNED MONEY for their services.

We finally gave up in SEPTEMBER (MOVED IN TO OUR HOUSE IN JUNE) and went with AT&T.

Now over the course of the year, have we continued to get Comcast ads in our mail. You betcha. Even better, the bag of literature left ON OUR PORCH by our very own Neighborhood Comcast Representative.

So, once again, Joseph wanting his high speed cable internet, gives them a call to see if possibly things have changed and could we get service.

“I do show that we now offer service on your street”

Joseph: “Are you sure?”

“I guarantee it!”

So, a tech gets sent out, Joe makes sure to not be AT HIS JOB so he will be there. And surprise MF’ING surprise…

“I can’t give you service, no place for me to run the line”

DAY THREE WASTED.

Joseph calls, of course can’t reach anyone.

He bothers to comment on Xfinity’s facebook and IMMEDIATELY THEY GIVE A DAMN.

“I’m so sorry for all the issues you’ve had. All your time of our’s we’ve wasted. And what’s that? You had to BUY a wireless router for services we promised you we would give you and then ONCE AGAIN LIED ABOUT?”

I’ll give Comcast this much credit, this time they actually SENT a surveyor out to tell us how far from the line we are.

Here’s a little fact, Comcast cannot connect you if you are more than 300 ft from a line. We are 314 feet.

FOURTEEN FEET.

Per the surveryor, to give us access to the line, it would cost JOSEPH AND I $1028. Which Comcast REFUSES to pay for.

Now, I am a fairly reasonable person, but as someone who is married to a tech support guy and who works in the biz herself, I expect great tech support. And when I don’t get my reasonable expectation, I have an issue with it. Here’s why.

To move the line so we can pay them to give us services $1028.

We were interested in getting cable/internet/home security. The home security is a 3 year contract. Per month this would run us $130 for all three services, which we would most likely keep throughout the 3 year contract because if we are going to keep paying for the security might as well keep the internet and cable.

That is $4680 for the three years.

Additionally, we were having to pay $130 to get everything set up.

Running Total: 4810

Now, let’s talk about what Comcast has COST Us. You know besides all the HOURS we spent on the phone being lied to and given the runaround. Not counting the harassing phone calls we received from them regarding a box they told us to keep OR the bills they kept sending. Also, don’t forget how much fun it is to be currently stressed, but I digress.

For those three days, Joseph was told to be available it cost him time from work which equals money: $865.

If we had to waste another day getting services it would be a 4th day for $288.

Also the cost of that wireless router that we bought but don’t need due to their lies: $100

Running total: $1253.

If I were to factor in the LITERAL HOURS we spent on the phone, it would have cost us even more money.

So to make it even simpler:

Money we’ve wasted $1153
Money Comcast would make: $4810
Money they expect us to pay to just get service $1028.

So to sum up, after we have wasted our time, practically begged for their service/assistance/a CALL BACK:

Comcast continually lied to us.

Comcast continually gave us the runaround.

Comcast harassed us.

Comcast failed in EVERY SINGLE WAY you possibly can in customer service.

Joseph and I have gone above and beyond to, for some reason, acquire services from these people. We have been told “You can get service” only to waste time and money to be lied to.

It has literally cost us time and MONEY when they couldn’t get their act together. I guess I expected a little class from Comcast. Crazy of me, but I expected real customer service. I expected them to care about the crap they’ve put their customer to and go above and beyond to rectify the situation. THAT IS what customer service is about after all. Especially when they have been the one to continually drop the ball and cost us money.

But, hey Comcast, if you want to throw away what would have been a wonderful customer to business relationship over 14 feet and $1028, that’s your prerogative.

Posting this is mine.

It’s just too bad you can’t charge Comcast for the money you lost out on their lies. Then I could play for them to move the line and go out for a fancy meal.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Comcast Xfinity: Business of Liars

  1. I will never recommend Comcast to anyone. I had them for 16 years as my cable TV provider. And to be fair, no issues. Imagine my surprise when I recieved a bill one month that had a line item charge for one of their cable modems. (Note: Mindspring had been, and still is, my conduit to the internet.) So, I called them. I asked who ordered this modem. They told me I had. I assured them that no I had not. Plus a modem had never been shipped to me. After much harangue, let me tellyou they do not understand math. They wanted to credit me for less than what they charged me. Finally, we got it sorted.

    then a year passes….

    I decided to cancel my service with Comcast because I rarely watched TV and anything I wanted to see I could watch online. So I cancelled. Comcast had no issue with my cancelling; but, they wanted their cable modem back. A modem that I had never received nor ordered. This went on for several months. Comcast even sent a person to my house to retrieve magical modem. Alas, THERE WAS NO MODEM!

    so after 16 years of a fairly complacent relationship it ended on this sour note. i wonder if I could get cablemony?

  2. Pingback: Comcast Xfinity a Follow Up | A Blog to Bragg About

Leave a Reply

