The Happiness Project: July

Attitude & Positive Thinking: I really need to work on my attitude. Although I try and stay positive a good deal of the time there are certain things that instantly turn me negative. I need to watch both the words that come out of my mouth and the ones that enter my head. Instead of focusing on the negative I need to reframe and find the positive. Life is too short to constantly be negative and I want to be as happy as possible.

As I previously mentioned, I had a hard time trying to figure out in which order I wanted to focus on different aspects of my life. However, this one was sort of easy. I figure if I’m going to embark on a happiness project, the first thing I should focus on is my attitude. My attitude, after all, could easily determine whether I grow and learn or stay stagnant to whom I am now.

It doesn’t take much to annoy me, especially if I’m in the car driving. I let frustrations from my job effect my whole frame of mind. I can be extremely negative, not only about myself but other people. I let insignificant things annoy me when I should just let it go.

The great thing is that my attitude and how I think are things fully under my control.

                My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. James 1:19-20.

For a few days now I’ve been debating exactly what I should do to reframe my attitude. I read a short book by Kamal Ravikant named Love Yourself Like Your Life Depends On It. It was quick and short read with one basic premise behind the author’s journey and it was that he strived to believe in love for himself. (I can lend it out on the Kindle if anyone is interested)

Although it was a short book, it did hit on the fact that love for one’s self is very important. The more you truly love yourself, the better you feel and when you feel good you radiate that out. To focus on loving myself I need to focus on the thoughts and words I allow myself to think. I am, without a doubt, my own worst enemy. I know every single flaw I have and I focus on them instead of focusing on the positive.

Which, brings me back to, what exactly can I do to really work on having a more positive attitude. Like I said, this is something I’ve been mulling around in my head for a few days now. It’s one thing to want to do something, but it’s another thing entirely too actually put it into action.

I’m going to steal a trick from a coworker of mine and smile more. Per this article smiling changes our moods, relives stress and lowers blood pressure, to name a few. When I’m getting frustrated over something insignificant I’m going to smile. I’m going to start smiling for no reason at all. I’m going to smile so much my face is going to hurt.

I’m going to try and put real thought behind my words and change what I say about myself and other people.

For every negative thought I think about myself or someone else, I’m going to match it with a positive. I’m going to keep track of the positive things that happen throughout the day, especially when I feel like my day is terrible.

I’m going to work on really loving myself like it’s the only thing that matters. I’m going to focus to make it through each day without complaining about petty things. I’m going to try and act the way I want to feel, not sweat the small stuff and laugh it off with intent.

I’m still undecided if complaining during crossfit counts against me or not.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Happiness Project: July

  1. Hi Sandra, thanks for the kind words about the book. I like the idea about smiling as well. All of these things, they take a commitment, but the results are so worth it.

  2. Hi! I was searching for other happiness projects (I just started mine!) and came across your post. I know exactly what you mean – my attitude could use a little help too.

    About the crossfit…I train at a gym and every time we have to do something absurdly difficult, the trainer grins at me and is like, “How’s it going?” I make an effort to plaster this giant grin on my face (through the sweat…and tears…) and shout back, “I F*CKING LOVE THIS!” You wouldn’t think so, but it totally makes a difference 🙂

    Good luck on your project! And feel free to check mine out: cuhappinessproject.wordpress.com!

Leave a Reply

