Tasty Tuesday: Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Last week I brought you guys the meatza. I understand not everyone is going to want a meat crust, some people want something a little more traditional but still low carb. I mean, it’s hard to turn down a classic piece of pizza with the robust sauce, the gooey cheese and toppings galore. Crust is also pretty important. Do you want hand tossed? Pan? Thin? Made from scratch or pre made?

Well, my friends, this is a crust that contains no flour. None. It’s cauliflower & cheese and spices and it is absolutely amazing. I’m not going to lie, there was a tiny *hint* of cauliflower around the edge of the pizza where there was no sauce or cheese. But other than that it was pure pizza taste. Sure, it’s not the real deal but it’s a lot healthier if you are avoiding carbs. It’s also a fun way to mix up pizza night or to get your kids to eat some vegetables, not that I have that problem.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Ingredients:
2 Cups Grated Cauliflower
1 cup 1% Cottage Cheese, water strained out
1/4 cup Egg Whites (equivalent to about 2 eggs)
Italian Seasonings to taste
Frank’s Hot Sauce (optional)

Directions:
Pre-heat the oven to 450

Microwave grated cauliflower for 8 minutes on high, uncovered.

In food processor mix up remaining ingredients until smooth.

Combine cauliflower with cheese mixture and stir well. This will be very goopy and you will wonder how this will bake into a “crust”. I had these same doubts and trust me, they will.

On either a wall oiled or parchment covered pan or pizza stone, thinly spread mixture out. I used parchment paper and I would be interested to know if my crust would come out crispier without it. If anyone tries it that way, let me know.

Bake for 25 minutes or until it looks like this:

Top pizza with your desired toppings and return to oven until cheese is bubbly.

I would suggest, using a thicker sauce so it isn’t as watery and not loading it down with too much cheese.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. what a great crust idea — love cauli!!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

