Tasty Tuesday: Tex Mex Potatoes

Occasionally and from time to time, (every Monday), we get home a little later and I’m a little more tired and the idea of cooking anything in depth makes me want to punch someone in the face. I mean, sure, I enjoy cooking. I like feeding people, actually. There are all these different “gifts” people have and I can have the gift of food, that would be mine.

But, on Monday night, that gift disappears and I just want something easy. Typically, on Monday nights we also have to stop at the store on the way home to get something because I’m not always the best at grocery shopping on the weekends. So, not only do I want something easy, I like it to be quick and delicious and relatively cheap.

This week, as I wondered what we would eat, I really wanted something starchy. It could have to do with all the crap I’ve been eating lately, or the fact that I really love a good starch, but when Joseph failed to suggest something, I decided on potatoes. But, if you’re going to eat a potato for dinner, it has to be topped with something pretty spectacular. I debated on a chili & cheese potato but I don’t really enjoy canned chili and making my own didn’t fall under the realm of “easy” or “quick”, so instead I made a tex mex topping from things I already had in my fridge/freezer/pantry. We only had to stop and buy the potatoes.

Tex Mex Topped Potatoes
Nutritional Stats for the Corn/Bean topping, figure out the potato & cheese yourself! Yields 4 Servings. Calories: 851, Carbs; 163, Fat: 15, Protein: 36

Ingredients:
2 Large Baking Potatoes (Big as your face, if possible)
½ Red Onion, Diced
1.5 Cups Frozen Corn
Can of Black Beans, rinsed and drained
¾ Cup Pico de Gallo
½ cup Enchilada Sauce
¼ cup low fat Cream Cheese
Juice of 1 Lime
2 T Cilantro
Shredded Cheese

Directions:

Bake Potatoes at 400 until done, about 45 minutes.

Once potatoes are done, heat large skillet on medium heat with a drizzle of olive oil. Cook onions until softened. Add corn and cook until no longer frozen. Add in black beans, pico de gallo, enchilada sauce, cream cheese, lime and cilantro and heat until warmed through.

Split Potato in half. Add a couple of scoops of bean mixture and a sprinkle of cheese, and enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

