Tasty Tuesday: Nutella Overnight Oats

Growing up in the south pretty much guarantees a love of grits, sausage gravy and sweet tea. Often times, enjoyed all at one time before ten in the morning. That’s reason number 3 I’m not a “true” southerner. Besides my hatred for tea, iced, sweetened or otherwise, I detest grits and sausage gravy makes me nauseous.

When it comes down to it, I’m not a savory breakfast person. I much prefer the sweet; waffles, French toast, pancakes, etc. Sure, on occasion I can enjoy a good Bacon, egg and cheese biscuit. In fact, honestly, Bacon is probably my most enjoyable breakfast food. (And yes, Bacon gets capitalized because it is that important)

*Meet Bacon the dog. He may or may not have been named that because of my love of the food*

Anyways, when trying to be healthy and actually eat breakfast in the morning, eating all those really sweet foods isn’t really the best way to start the day. Sure, on occasion it’s great. But, they don’t have lasting power and they don’t give me energy. Its sugar and it acts like sugar and I react like it is sugar.

However, there are really only so many days I can choke down eggs and only so many days I feel like eating before 6 am (when I leave for work). So, I finally gave in and tried this breakfast I heard a lot about: Refrigerated Overnight Oats. I was very leery of the fact that they would 1. Be cold and 2. Not be cooked, but I was pleasantly surprised to discover it is Ah-May-Zing.

Basically instead of heating and cooking your oats, they soften and plump by sitting in milk overnight. The kind I make the most are sweet, but the oats give it lasting power, I get some actual milk in and it keeps me full for hours. Although it still has sugar and it’s not necessarily the healthiest in regards to processed foods, it’s a start! This is my personal favorite recipe that I pulled together after checking other recipes for quantity amounts for milk and oats.

Nutella Overnight Oats

Servings 1, Calories: 301, Carbs: 46, Fat:10, Protein: 10 (Nutritional facts calculated using the recipe builder from myfitnesspal.com)

Ingredients:
½ cup Steel Cut or Rolled Oats
½ cup Skim Milk
1 T Nutella*
1 T Cocoa Powder
1 pkt Splenda or sweetener/sugar to taste

Directions:
The night before (or a few hours before) mix all ingredients in a small tub, making sure everything gets mixed together well. Cover and refrigerate. The next morning, mix it up again and enjoy. Mine typically sits out about an hour before I actually eat it since I take it to work with me.

*Can replace Nutella with Peanut Butter when mixing it and add half a sliced banana right before eating for a really delicious treat as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

